Bubbies Pure Kosher Dills

Bubbies Pure Kosher Dills

If you’re like me, you grew up eating pickles made by Del Monte or Vlasic, pickles that in some cases were labeled “kosher” dill. They were fat and juicy and soft with that vinegary dill tang that for me was very refreshing. A few years ago, I was at Rainbow Grocery at the refrigerated pickle section and I ran across Bubbies Pure Kosher Dills. It also said that it had no sugar, vinegar and preservatives. This intrigued me. Pickles made WITHOUT vinegar? How was that possible? I took the jar home, popped it open and bit into the pickle. No, it wasn’t love at first bite. The pickles were crunchy enough but I felt a fizzy bubbly sensation on my tongue that I didn’t like. My palate was so used to vinegar based pickles that this pickle confused me. I persevered and tasted again and began to appreciate the fresh, crunchy texture and the nuances I detected as I ate it. The secret was that these pickles are made with salt and water, resulting in a brine that ferments the pickles. I became a fan and now have a jar of Bubbies in the fridge.

Please check out this link for the full answer to kosher pickles and why vinegar is verbotten.


The short answer is that the brine is emulsified with polysorbates which is a kind of fat extracted from animals. The concern is that some of these animals might be unclean- like pigs for example. Kosher pickles are also called kosher in terms of flavor if they are made with brine and garlic.



Posted July 22, 2012

Your conclusion that vinegar is verboten seems to be based on polysorbates in brine, which is salt and water, not vinegar. The link goves no insight into vinegar at all.

Leave a reply